Gunning Like a Boss!

I never did believe in suffering to break in shoes that were one size too small. If the shoe doesn’t fit, don’t buy it and dammit don’t go wearing it either.

Norah Sofia tried as she might to get me into high heels in my teens, as any lady coming of age should, of course. Don’t get me wrong, today I love me some stilettos, but, surely I was worthy of the freedom to flow with who I was back then. A young girl who wanted to wear comfortable shoes, enjoy running around with friends and still look good.

We try so hard to squeeze ourselves into these moulds that people think we should fit into because of their own life experiences.

Always face the reality of who you are, what your journey is and who other people are. Believe that the next person is an autonomous individual / entity, on their own path.
When they show you something about themselves, when they tell you something about who they are, when they project certain energy, believe in what you just experienced, take it at face value and ‘be’ in accordance to that.

If you feel the need to express yourself a certain way, respect that enough to allow it to happen. Ignore the critics and “Know-It-Alls.” The truth is none of us know it all about the next person. Don’t ever put that kind of responsibility on your shoulders and certainly do not allow others to impose their agenda and opinions on you.
So, today I accept that I am what I am. I accept the woman I am becoming and I love her enough to ignore everyone else and just reach out for her in my own “unsophisticated” way.

If she isn’t cool enough, or, doesn’t fit the mould, then trust that a one of a kind master piece is in the making.

There are no hard and fast rules to understanding, dealing with and conquering people, relationships, society and culture. The best you can do is be the best YOU, you can be.

It’s been an interesting year for me; a baptism of fire; Coming-of-Age, with several humble and humbling beginnings. I feel like I have so much to say, so much to be and I don’t even know where to start really.

I had kept my head low, tried, in my own trite way, to play the role of the “worldly” woman, the adult (whatever the hell that is). It was all square peg, round hole!
I don’t do normal well. I pull off “cool” and society’s idea of “worldly sophistication” about as glamorously and sensibly as the queen in drop-crouch pants. It’s just not me, and it shows painfully!

So here I stand so unique, so full of possibility, so phenomenal and just down right cute!

And If You Can’t Stand Or Accept Me, Adieu, Farewell And God Speed!

One thought on “Gunning Like a Boss!

Don't Be Shy Share Your Thoughts

